Viewing People as Isolated in the Age of Interconnection

One of the prevailing views of ownership is “not a contract between myself and my property, but between myself and the world ABOUT my property.” The point of owning something is for everyone else to respect my relationship with a thing- be it a pen, a house, or trademark. Why, then, do we frequently fail to accept that piracy is a wanton and willful disrespect of an artist’s relationship with her property?

Perhaps we misunderstand property and ownership at the outset. As I have said before, a common rejection of copyright is that “copying is not theft, because it does not deprive the owner of their thing.” This apparently rests on the notion that to own something has weight insofar as it means I can have it. The competing view is that ownership has weight insofar as no one else can have what I have. This is the difference between understanding property as a contract with a widget vs. understanding property as a contract with the world about my widget.

Fundamentally, I trace this misunderstanding to a generation that internalized all too well the elementary school maxim to mind one’s own business. I think it likely that we became too adept at seeing the world in terms of single individuals, isolated and independent, alone in the world. Seeing the world like this, it makes more sense that an act cannot be wrong if it does not directly disturb others, or does not directly interact with them. I spoke to the broad implications of this kind of view in my post “A Head in the Sand is not an Ideal Source of Rights.” Applied here, attempting to see property claims as irrelevant to anyone neither an owner nor a piece of property can cause confusion over why copying might infringe on someone’s ownership. I think our views of piracy and copyright would be rather different if our relationship (or our view of our relationship) with the artist were closer (or felt closer). I wonder: are devoted fans of a band, game studio, actor, etc. less likely to pirate the works of their idols? If so, perhaps a good way to enforce copyright is to build a strong sense of community so that consumers feel that they are helping themselves and each other by abiding copyright, rather than taking free rides through piracy.

Leave a Reply

